The centre was established at the Department of Zoology, University of Lucknow with joining of Professor Vinod Kumar in 1993. Later Dr. Sanjay Kumar Bhardwaj and Dr. Sudhi Singh joined as post-doctoral fellows, followed by Dr. Sangeeta Rani and Dr. Shalie Malik as faculty in the years 2001 and 2005, respectively. Dr. Aakansha Sharma recently (2022) joined as a faculty in this center. The centre has been working with three main laboratories in close collaboration, at the Department of Zoology, University of Delhi, Delhi (Prof. Vinod Kumar, now on an ‘emeritus’ position), University of Lucknow, Lucknow (Prof. Sangeeta Rani, Prof. Shalie Malik and Dr. Aakansha Sharma) and Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut (Prof. Sanjay Kumar Bhardwaj). Prof. A. S. Dixit (NEHU, Shillong), Dr. Amit KumarTrivedi (Mizoram University, Aizawl) and Dr. Gaurav Majumdar (University of Allahabad) are our collaborators. These laboratories work on biological timekeeping systems in birds and address different research questions using an interdisciplinary approach. The laboratories have attracted generous research grant supports from the UGC, CSIR, DST, DBT, DST-DAAD Personnel based exchange Programmes, UPCST, and Indo-US Science and Technology Forum. The group has also been involved in capacity building program for Chronobiology research, and training and outreach programs for the undergraduate and School students.